A4 1.8Tq

Started by Rusty05, September 13, 2005, 08:42:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rusty05

Hi guys,
I am new to the world of VAG cars and the forum. I have just bought a '97 A4 1.8Tq. I was looking at evo lancers, but a friend had a 98 GTI Golf that i liked so when the opportunity came up to buy a straight A4 1.8Tq, i thought "why not get some thing different?". Rex from quadring (thanks for your time on the phone the other day) suggested that i join the forum. So here i am. Now i have got the A4 i have realised that they are pretty mild out of the box. I don't own a money tree but i do have a couple of grand to throw at it straight away. Any suggestions? i thought i might start with the wheels as it has some nasty alloys on it and snow tyres(?!)...

Turbo

good choice. A4's rule, in my humble opinion.
not biased or anything.

for a power upgrade get that sucker chipped. (i think rex has AMD chips - is that right?)
or to make it look less dadsy lower it, it'll improve the handling tenfold.
2000 S4, MTM stage 1, Oettinger RE's, Bilstein Sports, Vogtland springs, H&R Swaybars, DBA 4000 rotors, EBC Yellow stuff pads, 710N DV's, F1 tints, RS4 clutch

beeker

I would suggest, in order:
1. Chip it + fresh TT BPV (TT BPV is cheap)
2. nice Wheels (widest is 225 without rubbing)
3. Suspenson (suggest H&R Coilovers)
4. Exhaust, but dont do the DP unless your gonna remap
5. Body kit
and if your serious...
6. Ko4 turbo swap + Ko4 chip (~230/240hp)
7. Brake Upgrade (slotted A8 rotors with TT carriers for the look, or stoptechs for track work)
14 RS6 Avant Black
23 RS6 Performance avant on order
17 Q7 S Line 200kw
93 E36 M3 Targa Car
01 Porsche Boxster Series Race Car
17 Porsche 991.2 GT3 clubsport
94 DC2 Integra Targa/Track Race Car
13 TR86 race car
2018 Highlander
2017 Outback

Rusty05

Thanks for the input. A couple of questions...