Newbie Questions- 2000 A4 2.4 Quattro Tiptronic

Started by benji, December 05, 2005, 11:23:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

benji

Greetings to all.

I'm a new member, have been reading the forums for about 3 weeks to do a little research prior to buying.

I've just picked up a 2000 A4 2.4 Quattro Tiptronic. Looking around it seems that all the performance enhancing mods seem to be primarily aimed at the turbo A4's and I'm wondering if there are any mods to be done to non turbo cars.

I've seen brief mention of removing the catalytic converter and replacing the stock exhausts to gain some power, and I assume that this would improve a non turbo as well?
As you may have guessed I'm not very technical when it comes to motors :)
Also is their any advantage to be had be replacing the stock ECU (I'm assuming this is what's meant by chipping?).

Well any advice gratefully received.

Cheers

Ben

hitmanGTI

Changing exhaust removing cats etc will increase performance if done properly..

It will rev better etc etc..

If you remapp it get a new chip soldered in or flashed(via computer plug in car)

the engine generally will perform better.

You will have power gains.. not as huge as youwould from a turbod car thats been worked.. but gains nonethe less..

you could also get in to cam shafts etc etc which would make it go well too

beeker

Quote from: benji on December 05, 2005, 11:23:12 AM
Greetings to all.

I'm a new member, have been reading the forums for about 3 weeks to do a little research prior to buying.

I've just picked up a 2000 A4 2.4 Quattro Tiptronic. Looking around it seems that all the performance enhancing mods seem to be primarily aimed at the turbo A4's and I'm wondering if there are any mods to be done to non turbo cars.

I've seen brief mention of removing the catalytic converter and replacing the stock exhausts to gain some power, and I assume that this would improve a non turbo as well?