how long?

Started by shay, February 12, 2006, 01:18:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shay

Hi everyone,

can anyone give me an approximate time that it takes to do a head gasket on a 91 Gti golf?

My coolant is very milky so I am taking an educated guess that thats what it is. There is no coolant in the oil so I am guessing its not a cracked head, but in saying that I am not a mechanic so I could be all wrong too

Thanks

The Admiral

hi mate. Depends on whether or not you have help and the right tools. The hardest part I found was removing the exhaust manifold bolts to set the thing free. There are two ways of doing this. You can either undo the bolts from the maifold to the head, or you can crawl under the car and undo the connection from the manifold to the downpipe. If you do the latter you'll need a special tool to put it back together. The special tool can be home made. I did the former.

A friend and I managed to remove the head and fit new valves, new guides, new oil seals, springs etc (everything except the cam and bearings) as well as re-cut the valve seats in a weekend. If you're taking the head off, you'd might as well change the oil seals as it's easy to do.

Is it an 8V? Mine was.

Cheers!

The Admiral

Pristle

Before you jump to the head gasket, check the oil cooler. I found this to be a lot cheaper and faster to change. Mine is located between the engine and oil filter. To test it, block one end and blow into the other, if it sounds like a trumpet, it's your problem. I got a 2nd hand one from Pick a Part for $12.

The Admiral

Quote from: Pristle on February 12, 2006, 03:49:29 PM
Before you jump to the head gasket, check the oil cooler. I found this to be a lot cheaper and faster to change. Mine is located between the engine and oil filter. To test it, block one end and blow into the other, if it sounds like a trumpet, it's your problem. I got a 2nd hand one from Pick a Part for $12.

Where is pickapart?

Ta!

hitmanGTI