Author Topic: RNS 510 code  (Read 1128 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Naekyr

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 113
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2017, 08:11:16 am »
yes I can get the RNS510 with full apple car play and Android auto etc. genuine VW parts also.

Ok fair enough I stand corrected. Happy enough with my unit though cost $400 new

Offline McDoof

  • ***
  • ***
  • Posts: 701
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2017, 09:04:34 am »
I guess the question is whether that integrates with the other systems, in my case I have the A/C, parking sensors, steering wheel controls hooked up to the unit.

Yes it has 2 way CANBUS integration. So it works with VW Reverese cameras, parking sensors and the later model Sonar systems. If I had a full height MFD it would also show radio etc on there. Steering wheel controls work too.
It's surprisingly good. I mostly run Spotify on it for music so even though it will stream from my phone, I just don't have to. Google maps works perfectly too and if you want you can load up tomtom or something like that.

The only 2 gripes I have are that it takes about 30 seconds to boot when I start the car (Reverse camera still works before) and the Voice control is a bit average. I think it uses the pinhole mic on the radio rather than the voice mic that I have mounted up high.

NZ New MK5 GTI - Tuned by HSP Tuning

Offline slowmo

  • ##
  • **
  • Posts: 4819
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2017, 11:00:12 am »
Cool, thanks for the feedback mCdoof and TRW.

I'll check my version - pretty sure it is 9w3 as I have BT phone and phone book integration. But if i'm to keep the car longer I really want BT audio streaming or CarPlay as the MDI connection only charges my iphone but doesn't allow me to stream music from it.
MK6 Golf GTI DSG (Hers)
MK5 Golf R32 6SPM (His)
B5 A4 TQ MTM (For Sale)

Offline The Red Warrior

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 277
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #18 on: February 24, 2017, 08:41:42 pm »
careful. his car is OEM 9w2. so he will have missing wiring and most likely incorrectly wired loom for the change over from 9w2 to 9w7. so will need to redo or replace the BT loom.

your original loom you got was the 9w7 loom..

Ah, okay then. Happy to be corrected by the guru that you are.  ;)

I just plugged mine in to see and it was all good. Didn't realize you fitted the 9W7 loom.
I have an extra 9W7 loom still sitting in the garage as I never needed it when I upgraded to 9W7. Still have the 9W2 module as well though I doubt there is much demand for them these days.

Offline jasegti

  • Posts: 57
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #19 on: March 05, 2017, 09:03:14 pm »
9W7 module is on its way  :) :)

Offline jasegti

  • Posts: 57
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2017, 06:41:02 pm »
So turned up pretty quick , got it in from the states. 2015 module. Wiring loom came in from ebay within a week which really surprised me.

All up $324 nzd.

Works very well and was a pretty easy install. Have to figure out how to stop it launching the streaming media player when I start up the car, haven't quite figured that one out yet.





« Last Edit: March 10, 2017, 06:43:25 pm by jasegti »

Offline thomas.dq

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 277
  • They call me Thomas.
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #21 on: March 11, 2017, 10:27:38 pm »
Nice job
1997 Mk3 Golf VR6
2010 Mk6 Golf GTI

Offline jasegti

  • Posts: 57
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2017, 04:39:35 pm »
So controls turned up today , was a pretty simple install, hardest part I found was getting the bloody air bag out. Anyway all in and all working well, even activated the PTT its a bit hit and miss but its ok.




Offline keithmnz

  • Posts: 9
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #23 on: May 15, 2017, 08:29:54 am »
Hi GLIDN, how much for a replacement RNS510 head unit for a Mk 6 Golf GTI

Offline jasegti

  • Posts: 57
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2017, 10:13:15 am »
They are not cheap unless you can find one being parted out in a wreck which I was unable to do. I only managed to get mine because they thought it was stuffed but I managed to fix it. You can buy new out of aussie but they charge $1600.
When I get home I will try and find the site I got my Bluetooth module off of as they were selling all models of them at a pretty good price.

Offline Naekyr

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 113
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #25 on: May 16, 2017, 11:40:43 am »
Tried the junkyard route aswell, apparently there are zero Golfs (that could have the 510 equiped) in Auckland, could only find much older golfs in the yards

Offline 80 Vert

  • only milk and juice comes in 2 litres
  • ####
  • ****
  • Posts: 8338
  • All thats left to do is everything!
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #26 on: May 16, 2017, 05:01:04 pm »
Just bought one off TM out of an Amarok, fitted it to the T5 today.
Nice to be all OEM with camera and bluetooth which is all working great.
2013 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
2010 T5 Transporter TDI
2003 Jetta Coupe soon to be R36TT
1963 Type 34 Karmann Ghia, turbo 2.0
1990 Porsche 964 Carrera 4
1980 1303 Beetle vert, in pieces

https://www.facebook.com/pages/West-Worx/460154187360186

Offline jasegti

  • Posts: 57
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #27 on: May 16, 2017, 05:15:03 pm »
I got my Bluetooth module off these guys and they have the full range of iterations of the RNS
https://eurozonetuning.com/collections/rns510_nav_systems

Offline Chchgti35

  • Posts: 17
  • 2012 Mk6 GTi 35 edition
Re: RNS 510 code
« Reply #28 on: September 10, 2017, 04:04:57 pm »
Yes the codes can be problematic,  This is an old thread and this is a little off topic but my son had a car with factory stereo which was asking for the code (97 Saab) when he bought it. The Saab dealers are of course all Holden dealers and they were zero help, the original selling dealer was out of business in Wellington so I was out of options. I traced back through the extensive list of receipts that came with the car (poor sod that bought it new must have had no hair left) and saw that one garage in Wellington had removed and re installed the radio 10 years before, i phoned and the very helpful lady still had the invoice on file. She gave me the code and it was alive again, apologies for ramble but he was stoked to have the stereo going. Amazing what you can find out from old invoices but then I am just trying to justify my hoarding personality .....