Author Topic: Dash cluster swap  (Read 295 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline paddymarsh

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 142
Dash cluster swap
« on: December 11, 2017, 08:28:50 pm »
I have recently purchased a Mk5 GTi that is a little worse for wear. It is a 2005 NZ new 1 owner car, but has been very much treated as a family car for the last 12 years. It has lots of tired interior bits which i am looking to replace with parts from a wreck which i am planning on buying. First on the list is the unreadable lowline LCD display.

The wreck i am looking at buying is a higher trim South African car with a good condition highline LCD.

I am wondering if anyone has done this swap before?? I have read a few USA threads and it seems to be possible. It seems to be very much involved around playing with a VAGCOM to program the new unit to the car. Does anyone know if this is a complicated process or not? I have never used a VAGCOM before so would need to pay someone to do it or use a favor possibly if its simple. Just trying to figure out if it's worth the effort or not? Or something that could be done with one of those s**tty Aliexpress readers?

Any help would be appreciated.
2000 A4 1.8TQ Le Mans Avant

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 267
Re: Dash cluster swap
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2017, 07:02:36 am »
2005 is easy enough, but you'll need to get the SKC code somehow.

Either read it from the dash, or the engine ECU. You also need to do the same from the donor car. Vagcom/VCDS doesn't do it, but other options sometimes can, like K+CAN VAG Commander

What year is the Donor? If its later 2007+), you'll run into trouble ;-)

Offline paddymarsh

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 142
Re: Dash cluster swap
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2017, 08:02:59 am »
Ok sweet so it it just as easy as programing it once they have been swapped?

Donor car is 2006

Would something like this work https://www.trademe.co.nz/motors/car-parts-accessories/tools-repair-kits/meters-testers/auction-1489239870.htm?rsqid=a44720f570aa4e248df51b189f421a02  ??
« Last Edit: December 12, 2017, 10:12:32 am by paddymarsh »
2000 A4 1.8TQ Le Mans Avant

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 267
Re: Dash cluster swap
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2017, 08:49:32 pm »
In THEORY, yes it should... but you never know what you're getting with clones. I'd also not use it for doing anything complicated, as they don't work 100% and might screw something. You need to get the SKC while the car is intact. You need it from both cars.

Double check both cars are Immo4a, which they should be, though the 2006 should be verified first.

I've used a clone to ream cluster eeproms, and tried writing them too, but the write is NOT the same as the read - so don't get carried away.

I'd code them once installed, using a genuine VCDS setup.

If you're going to do it yourself, do a fair bit of googling to see how it's done.

Offline The Red Warrior

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 292
Re: Dash cluster swap
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2017, 10:06:22 am »
In THEORY, yes it should... but you never know what you're getting with clones. I'd also not use it for doing anything complicated, as they don't work 100% and might screw something. You need to get the SKC while the car is intact. You need it from both cars.

Double check both cars are Immo4a, which they should be, though the 2006 should be verified first.

I've used a clone to ream cluster eeproms, and tried writing them too, but the write is NOT the same as the read - so don't get carried away.

I'd code them once installed, using a genuine VCDS setup.

If you're going to do it yourself, do a fair bit of googling to see how it's done.

I hope ‘ream’ is just a typo  ;)

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 267
Re: Dash cluster swap
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2017, 08:02:53 am »
Haha - READ :-)


Offline paddymarsh

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 142
Re: Dash cluster swap
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2017, 10:14:00 pm »
This all may be a little out of my depth.

Would the swap be simpler if I sourced a cluster with a lowlife display? Can I just swap out the screen and nothing else?
2000 A4 1.8TQ Le Mans Avant

Offline ERRRNO

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 272
  • ERRRNO
Re: Dash cluster swap
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2018, 11:18:53 am »
Hennie will be able to help you with this one. He goes by the name GLIDN on here if you didn't know already.
.:R Line Mk5 TDi '08 in candy white
Tornado Red MK5 2.0 tsi Variant (300hp)