Future TT Newbie Here with Questions

Started by benckj, May 10, 2018, 08:13:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

benckj

Coming from a long line up of Toyota MR2's I've caught the German bug and decided to dive into a TT.  Researching a few details between models now and working on taking for test drives to figure out what is the most suitable. 

Basically, my wife and I would like to replace our 96 MR2 with another shopping basket that is safe, reliable & fun to dive. Have narrowed down to either a 2004 TT with either a 1.8 turbo, 3.2NA or a 2006 with a 3.2l.  Really want all the bells and whistles such as leather, good stereo, performance and cornering ability.

Now for the questions;

1/ In plain terms describe the main differences between the gen 1 and 2 models?
2/ Is 'S-Line' models worth more $$ & why?
3/ Quattro or No Quattro is the question?
4/ Being 6'4" tall will I comfortably fit?

My apologies if some of this info has been covered before. I have just joined the forum with the intent of finding info required.  I am an active member (Moderator) on other car forums so understand the valuable resource they can be.

Thanks,

Jim
2004-Audi TT 3.2l Quattro
Mods underway!

schattenblau

Welcome to vask.

:D

1/ gen 1 was based on the old golf 4 chassis, very early TTs had dodgy aero at autobahn speeds.
gen 2 was based on the more competent golf 5 platform - much better handling.
better aesthetics too, gen 2 looks sportier, less like a fluid shaped turd.

2/ s-line was a cosmetic pack with sport chassis (?)
nice to have.

3/ tt quattro is via haldex, the car runs more or less in fwd until the front loses traction.
amongst various motoring rotters and tt pundits the sweetspot is the plain fwd gen 2 tt with 2.0 litre turbo.
a very nice car but may not satify yout urge for bells and whistles.

4/ they are compact cars so may be a bit tight for headroom, in which case they do make convertible versions  :)

Which one to pick ?