Dubstars Mk2 - Stock as a Rock

Started by dubstar, July 14, 2023, 01:21:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dubstar

It seems there are a few of us 'of a certain age' who are buying up MK2 Golfs....... reliving our youth or something......

This is my 1989 GTI 16v that I have owned since October 2020.

A bit of history.  I have been working from home for the past 7 years and my daily (3dr 9N3 Polo GTI) was sitting in the driveway 99% of the time.  In Australia, Rego is $800 per year and insurance is roughly $1k, so that is a lot of cash to be spending on a car that just sits, so I sold it 2 weeks before the first lockdown.

Because I didn't need a car every day, I was starting to look at getting another 'classic', as we have a Club Permit scheme which allows for classic cars to be used for 90 days a year, tracked via a logbook, for a much-reduced rego cost.  It is about $200 per year for the permit and insurance is also reduced to about $200 per year. Fast forward to October 2020 (Bathurst weekend to be exact) and a facebook ad came up for a 16v GTI.  And best of all, it was a 3 door!!!  For those that don't know, Australia only got a limited number of 5-door 8v GTI Mk2s in 1991/1992 and missed out on all the other Mk2 variants, so a 3 door 16v GTI is rocking horse poo.

I basically paid full asking price over the phone and got the car picked up from NSW and delivered to VIC (that was a mission in lockdown!). 
How it arrived

Safe in the garage

The previous owner was an ex-mechanic and had said the only issues were a slight oil leak from the sump gasket, a slight fuel leak from the pump housing and a sloppy gear linkage.  However, he neglected to mention that the car had basically sat for 5-6 years and there were quite a few other issues that needed addressing:
-   The fuel pump housing was pissing fuel, not a slight leak
-   Every so often the brake pedal would go straight to the floor, still slowing the car, but definitely puckering