Author Topic: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf  (Read 936 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dummer

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 125
Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« on: October 15, 2018, 05:20:06 pm »
Hi,
was looking a way to have hill hold assist on a mk 5 golf and come to this https://forums.ross-tech.com/showthread.php?5760-Hill-Hold-Assist-in-MK5&s=7752ab512b660bc77770001fabe0162f&p=55849&viewfull=1#post55849

Anyone know what "Right DuoSensor" he's refering to?

Thanks a lot

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 335
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2018, 09:10:27 am »
What ABS do you have?

MK60? MK60EC1? What production year is your Golf?

If you already have ESP, you'll need a compatible ABS module, and fit the Duosensor from a car with Hill Hold, (or from a 4-motion car - same sensor). It doesn't require additional wiring to the sensor.

If you have MK70 without ESP, there isquite a bit of wiring required.

If you have MK60EC1, it's just an ABS module change, or possibly just a coding change if it's a compatible module, but that is not likely. The sensor is in the module.

There may be a little experimentation required to get it right.

Do you have a VCDS scan?

Offline the phantom

  • ##
  • **
  • Posts: 3340
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2018, 10:02:46 am »
um, left foot brake? I assume it's DSG
Land Transport New Zealand, taking the fun out of driving since August 2008

Offline McDoof

  • ****
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2018, 03:57:34 pm »
MK5 golf has a standard handbrake. Just treat it like a manual. Handbrake up, give it a little gas and then release the handbrake slowly.
NZ New MK5 GTI - Tuned by HSP Tuning

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 335
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2018, 03:59:47 pm »
MK5 golf has a standard handbrake. Just treat it like a manual. Handbrake up, give it a little gas and then release the handbrake slowly.

I have to move my tissue box out of the way to do that smoothly in my Touran  :laugh: And I need the tissues or at least wipes, for the 3 monsters tied up in the back!

Offline dummer

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 125
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2018, 11:40:24 pm »
First of all, sorry for double posting here and Tech section. my phone crashed and thought it didn't post (and not sure why it's under A3 not golf).

What ABS do you have?

MK60? MK60EC1? What production year is your Golf?

If you already have ESP, you'll need a compatible ABS module, and fit the Duosensor from a car with Hill Hold, (or from a 4-motion car - same sensor). It doesn't require additional wiring to the sensor.

If you have MK70 without ESP, there isquite a bit of wiring required.

If you have MK60EC1, it's just an ABS module change, or possibly just a coding change if it's a compatible module, but that is not likely. The sensor is in the module.

There may be a little experimentation required to get it right.

Do you have a VCDS scan?

My car is a standard NZ new Golf 5 GTI so it has a MK60 ABS module (I do have a mk60EC1 sitting somewhere but I don't know how to generate the long coding for it since it need to incorporate VIN number and ross tech is hesitating to help generating one)

So from what you say is I just need to grab a Duosensor(is that under the driver seat?) from a R32 and it should work?

um, left foot brake? I assume it's DSG
Yes it's DSG
Planning to give it to my parents but they are used to the Merc which do not have the problem of rolling back on incline and seems to have forgotten how to do handbrake hill start

Thanks

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 335
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2018, 09:43:06 pm »
Some later MK5s are MK60EC1 too.

You need the right duosensor (Check ETKA for your year, but the same sensor was often used on AWD and hill hold equipped FWD cars, stanadard ESP FWD cars used a different sensor) AND a compatible ABS module for a FWD car. Your module probably isn't capable.

Offline Naekyr

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 209
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2018, 08:49:12 am »
You don't really need to use the handbrake though, it can take a little practice coming from an auto though as I found out with the GTI, there where many days I'd spin the wheels on a hill and look like an idiot

Without the handbrake and assuming no hill hold you have a couple options

1) Hold the brake with left foot, apply throttle with right foot until it starts to take, then release brake

2) Or what I prefer to do, just use right foot, take foot off brake and use throttle to get going - this takes practice, too little throttle and you roll back, too much and you spin the wheels (damn stage 2 GTI and its 380nm torque going to the front wheels...), but get your timing just right and the car takes gently without issue, I've become really good at this and no longer have an issue with hills, just using my right foot I can get the car going without rolling back or spinning the wheels. If I'm feeling lazy then I'll use the hill hold                         
« Last Edit: October 19, 2018, 08:51:18 am by Naekyr »

Offline dummer

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 125
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2018, 02:08:51 pm »
Some later MK5s are MK60EC1 too.

You need the right duosensor (Check ETKA for your year, but the same sensor was often used on AWD and hill hold equipped FWD cars, stanadard ESP FWD cars used a different sensor) AND a compatible ABS module for a FWD car. Your module probably isn't capable.

Do you mean I still need to try code a MK60EC1 in? :-[

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 335
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2018, 04:12:41 pm »
No, It's possible to have an MK60 with hill hold. SOME of them are capable.

  • find a compatible MK60 ABS module
  • Install 4-motion/hill-hold G251 sensor
  • Code ABS to car
  • perform basic settings/adaptations, possibly system function test


Offline the phantom

  • ##
  • **
  • Posts: 3340
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2018, 08:58:00 pm »

Planning to give it to my parents but they are used to the Merc which do not have the problem of rolling back on incline and seems to have forgotten how to do handbrake hill start


using a handbrake is like riding a bicycle, cheaper and simpler just to retrain them  8)
Land Transport New Zealand, taking the fun out of driving since August 2008

Offline dummer

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 125
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2018, 05:00:23 pm »
No, It's possible to have an MK60 with hill hold. SOME of them are capable.

  • find a compatible MK60 ABS module
  • Install 4-motion/hill-hold G251 sensor
  • Code ABS to car
  • perform basic settings/adaptations, possibly system function test

How do I identify the MK60 is capable or not?

Offline Worms

  • **
  • **
  • Posts: 335
Re: Hill hold for Mk5 Golf
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2018, 08:38:08 pm »
How do I identify the MK60 is capable or not?

Hunt through EKTA and find the part number for a pump that matches the PR code for Hill Hold, and the other PR codes that may be required for your car, and any required production run changes/year changes.