100 Quattro Newbie

Started by patrol, April 27, 2007, 11:07:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

patrol

Hi ..
I've just joined your forum. I'm a 100 Quattro V6 newbie .. 1993 model which I've had just over a week.
I brought it to replace the '94 Saab and am very pleased with it, but now sorting out the niggling problems, making sure everything works as it should.

A couple of problems, one to do with the Auto. Its not as smooth as I think it should be (not bad, but could be just a little better). Problem is that its such a smooth car .. I might be too sensitive ...

Also I think that when they overhauled the trans, they didn't reinstall the kickdown cable ... can anyone confirm whether there is a cable that should be installed (from throttle body to trans). It doesn't change down soon enough when going up a hill.

The other is that the engine also runs cold according to the gauge, both water and oil temperatures (even though the engine feels warm). I guess I should test the sensor first. Anyone had a similar problem ?

Anyway ... just another to add to the fleet of cars we have at home.

A

GlenT

Welcome patrol,
As far as the auto is concered, my wife's car is an '95 80 Avant 2.6E.
When we go up a hill in say 4th it can take a while to change down, the revs will drop but it wont change for ages, then all of a sudden it's all go when she's in third. But it does seem to stay in 4th for too long unless you put your foot down and then it will change straight away.
If we leave it in "Sport" mode it changes down really quickly and stays in gear for about another 1000 revs higher than in normal mode.
Seems to be the same in my friends 80 as well.

BB

Not sure if it has a cable or a switch but it should kick down when you floor it.
The end is nigh, but the end of what is the question?

HandsomeDan